Living Himalayas: securing the water towers of Asia

2012 – 2014

The Himalayas, Asia's water tower, is the source of ten of the largest rivers in Asia which are the life force of approximately 40% of the world population living in these river basins. The Koshi and Dangme river basins, which cross through Nepal and Bhutan, play a key role for Eastern Himalayas' hydrology, since they give life to a rich and diverse flora and fauna.

However, the regimes in the Himalayas are changing, which puts at risk food production, investments made in hydroelectric energy, the survival of plants and animals, and the survival of the human communities.

The goal of this project is to set up an integrated water resources management plan. By creating regional platforms, it will bring together all those involved around discussions on political initiatives and will make it possible to disseminate good practice. This project provides extremely valuable hands-on experience to strengthen water management policies and practices at local, national and regional levels.




Living Himalayas: securing the water towers of Asia
Living Himalayas: securing the water towers of Asia
Living Himalayas: securing the water towers of Asia

Localisation: Bhutan

Bhutan

Project Initiator

WWF Finland – WWF International

flag-français flag-anglais facebook twitter youtubeMonaco Channel

Projets

Retour à la liste

Living Himalayas :  sécuriser le château d'eau de l'Asie

Living Himalayas : sécuriser le château d'eau de l'Asie

Porteur du projet

WWF Finlande – WWF International

Localisation
Bhoutan
Living Himalayas :  sécuriser le château d'eau de l'Asie
Description du projet

2012 – 2014

L’Himalaya, château d’eau de l’Asie, est la source des dix plus grands fleuves d’Asie qui sont la force vitale d’environ 40% de la population mondiale vivant dans ces bassins fluviaux. Les bassins fluviaux du Koshi et du Dangme, qui traversent le Népal et le Bhoutan, ont une importance considérable pour l’hydrologie de l’Himalaya oriental puisqu’ils permettent la vie d’une flore et d’une faune riches et diverses.

Toutefois, les régimes en Himalaya se transforment, ce qui met en péril la production alimentaire, les investissements réalisés dans l’énergie hydroélectrique, la survie des plantes et des animaux, et la survie des communautés humaines.

Ce projet vise à mettre en place un dispositif de gestion intégrée des ressources en eau. En créant des plateformes régionales, il rassemble tous les intervenants autour de débats sur les initiatives politiques et permet la diffusion des bonnes pratiques. Ce projet apporte une expérience de terrain très précieuse pour renforcer les politiques et les pratiques de gestion de l’eau aux niveaux local, national et régional.

Living Himalayas :  sécuriser le château d'eau de l'Asie
Living Himalayas :  sécuriser le château d'eau de l'Asie
Living Himalayas :  sécuriser le château d'eau de l'Asie

Accès membres




Accès Influencers circle




Grace à votre générosité, nous pouvons agir pour l'avenir de notre planète.